Vehicle and Driver Requirements for Uber and Lyft in Illinois

Driving for Uber and Lyft is a convenient way for some people to make extra money outside of a normal day job. It allows them to work their own hours and drive in their personal vehicles. For those who like to travel and don’t mind interacting with strangers, it might not even seem like work.

Some people believe the misconception that they can just sign up for either rideshare service and start driving right away. The reality is that Uber and Lyft have specific vehicle and driver requirements. So if you are thinking about driving for Uber or Lyft in the state of Illinois, here is what you need to know.

Lyft’s Vehicle and Driver Requirements

To drive for Lyft in Illinois, you must have a valid driver’s license. However, the company’s website indicates they also accept temporary and out-of-state licenses. You must also own a smartphone capable of downloading and operating their proprietary app. Additionally, you must be 25 or older with at least one year of driving experience.

Lyft will also check your driving record and requires all drivers to pass a criminal background check. In addition to driver requirements, Lyft also has several vehicle requirements:

  • The vehicle must be a 2008 model or newer
  • The vehicle must have four doors
  • The vehicle must have a valid license plate, even if the plate is out-of-state
  • The vehicle must have at least five seatbelts
  • The vehicle can’t have more than eight seatbelts

If you meet these requirements, then all you have to do is submit the required documentation, and Lyft will start processing your application. Required documentation includes all of the following:

Once you submit your application, the company will review them. Upon successful review, you should be approved and ready to earn in no time. If you are driving in Illinois, you must display a Lyft decal whenever you are logged in to the app.

Uber’s Vehicle and Driver Requirements

Uber’s requirements are fairly similar to Lyft’s, although there are some slight differences. For example, Uber also requires one year of driving for those 25 years and older but allows drivers who meet the minimum driving age in their city to sign up, provided they have at least three years of licensed experience behind the wheel.

To drive for Uber in Illinois, your vehicle must meet these requirements:

  • The vehicle cannot be older than 15 years old
  • The vehicle must have four doors
  • The vehicle must be in good condition
  • The vehicle must not have cosmetic damage
  • Commercial branding is not allowed
  • The vehicle must pass an inspection

Uber also requires a valid US driver’s license, proof of vehicle insurance, and a driver’s photo. You must also submit proof of residency in whatever state in which you are applying to drive.

Additionally, Uber requires all drivers to hold their own insurance policy that meets the requirements of state and local laws.

Uber also has several different tiers that have more specific requirements. These tiers include all of the following:

  • UberX
  • UberXL
  • Uber Black
  • Uber Black SUV
  • Uber Cab
  • Comfort

Additionally, all Uber drivers in Illinois must display an Uber decal in their vehicles whenever they are online.

Be Careful When on the Roads

If you are driving for Uber or Lyft, exercise great caution when navigating the roads. The rideshare industry can be tiring and stressful, and the higher driving frequency means there are greater chances of getting into a car accident. Remember to comply with the rules of the road and treat other drivers respectfully.

If you were in a car accident with an Uber or Lyft driver, you may be entitled to compensation. Contact Attorneys of Chicago Personal Injury Lawyers for help with your claim.

Contact Our Chicago Car Accident Law Firm For Help Today

If you’ve been injured in an accident in Chicago, Illinois, and need legal help, contact our experienced car accident lawyers at Attorneys of Chicago Personal Injury Lawyers to schedule a free consultation today.

We proudly serve Cook County and its surrounding areas:

Attorneys of Chicago Personal Injury Lawyers
134 N La Salle St #2160
Chicago, IL 60602

Phone: (312) 929-2884